Terry McMillan Almost Didn’t Recoil From My Frantic Embrace

November 9, 2011 § 4 Comments

This faded scan of a copy of a photo is all I have of my beautiful, six-day friendship with Terry McMillan.

Every author must pursue the so-called “blurbs” for their first novel. “Blurb” is a heavy, awkward word, reminding one of a fat honey badger struggling in quicksand as a panther lurks near. Here I am at a writer’s retreat in the Belizean Jungle with Terry McMillan, author of Waiting to Exhale, How Stella Got Her Groove, and Dear God Get Her Away From Me, I Don’t Want a Picture With Her, Someone Call the Belizean Police if They’re Not All High and Surfing Somewhere.

My mission:  Make Terry Mcmillan love me and write something nice for my first novel.  It was quite a challenge.

But in the end, I did prevail, at least in the “write something nice” category. Yes there were a few restraining orders involved, but you know what they say:  Fat honey badger don’t care.

 

§ 4 Responses to Terry McMillan Almost Didn’t Recoil From My Frantic Embrace

  • Scott says:

    You yanked her right out of her shoes!

    I think I also had a six day friendship with you. But as Steven Wright would say, just not all in a row.

    Question: Is that your limit before moving on? Am I a victim of a serial friender? (For those who don’t know me, I kid.)

  • Janet Champ says:

    Oh god that is hysterical. I love your wide-legged stance, looking for all the world as if in the next photo you’re tipping Terry back, ready for that passionate, unstoppable kiss that seals the deal. Or is that just me? Hopeful as always.

    And we’re way past our 6 day limit. Do I have to send you another check?

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Terry McMillan Almost Didn’t Recoil From My Frantic Embrace at Kathy Hepinstall's Blog.

meta