Oprah’s Secret Hiding Place

April 18, 2012 § 9 Comments

I know, I know. She no longer has a show or a book club. But she’s still Oprah, and I still can’t deny myself this one last Hail Mary *

One day two weeks ago, the air fragrant with stealth and literary possibility, The Phoenix and I went to the foothills of Montecito and buried a copy of Blue Asylum for Oprah.

We marked the burial site with a circle of stones (shape of an O, get it?). Thoughfully, we left her a shovel (Someone stole it).

We then created a diversionary site to throw off curious hikers-by.  The Phoenix paced off the distance from the hiding place to the trail head and then went home to begin work on a map.

The ad in Oprah’s hometown paper, the Montecito Journal, runs full-page color this week (thank you Kelly Beck-Byrnes).  I will keep you posted on the progress of this epic quest.

*Unless it doesn’t work. Then there might be one more last Hail Mary. Ideas welcome!

Tagged:

§ 9 Responses to Oprah’s Secret Hiding Place

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Oprah’s Secret Hiding Place at Kathy Hepinstall's Blog.

meta