CONTAGION: AN APOLOGY TO MY ENTIRE YAHOO ACCOUNT

January 3, 2013 § 4 Comments

I am sorry that I infected you, and though you know and understand that I am a victim – that does not mean you hate me less.

And I accept that.

A friend of mine sent me an email that said, Hey Kathy what do you think of this link? In the same way an alligator snapping turtle says to a fish: Hey what do you think of this worm-like appendage in the back of my throat?

I did it.  I clicked. I thought my stupid friend really wanted my stupid opinion.

And so I got a disease, which in a matter of seconds I spread to my entire mailbox.

I am in hiding, consumed with shame, a digital Jezebel, an infector of men. I am like Anne Hathaway in Les Miserables except I was not paid, and I did not die warbling something about tigers.

Now I know how the Trojans felt when the Greeks left them a big wooden horse and said, hey, click on this. 

There are a lot of things I clicked on in 2012 that I regret.

And now it’s 2013.  Can I start out clean, friends?  Jesus would be the first to remind you that he who has never clicked on a digital link from an unconfirmed source should cast the first stone.

Oh, you never have?

That first stone hurt, Mom.

Happy 2013!

§ 4 Responses to CONTAGION: AN APOLOGY TO MY ENTIRE YAHOO ACCOUNT

  • dallas says:

    Happy New Year K thought your blog might have gone the way of the Dodo! Glad to see you starting it back up.

  • jeff says:

    let he who is without sin cast the first thumbs down.

  • You are the queen of simile.

  • Saintly Mother says:

    The fact that I only today found this blog entry indicates I must not click very often – or either that guardian angel who sits on my shoulder directed my attention elsewhere because my pc seems to work as well as usual. I’m so sorry this happened to you, Baby – you who wouldn’t even harm a #@%&* fig-stealing, garden-destroying, rabid varmint to protect your saintly mother…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading CONTAGION: AN APOLOGY TO MY ENTIRE YAHOO ACCOUNT at Kathy Hepinstall's Blog.

meta

