How to Compete with Harry Potter

October 8, 2011 § 8 Comments

Once a bookstore put my novel in a prominent display case.  Sadly, House of Gentle Men had to share the display with the latest Harry Potter book and I was afraid no one would notice it. So I went to an electronics store, had them fashion me a wire covered with flashing lights, then when no one was looking I crept into the bookstore, wrapped the flashing lights around my book, and plugged it in the wall.  When the people at the bookstore caught on, they felt sorry for me and let me leave the lights up for a week.  I don’t know what I was thinking. It’s not like a mother would come in to buy a Harry Potter novel for their child and then think, wait, I’ll buy him the unsettling literary novel with the lights instead.

§ 8 Responses to How to Compete with Harry Potter

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading How to Compete with Harry Potter at Kathy Hepinstall's Blog.

meta

