Funny/Sad You Should Ask

June 30, 2012 § 25 Comments

People who’ve read my books have asked me, why the split personality? Why the fun-loving persona and the sad sad novels, where the best characters are always slaughtered, women are constantly held under the cloddish foot of some dream-haunted oafish male, babies are never safe, love is just some cruel Lucy holding the football, and everything, including rainbows, ends in tears?

Every time I think about it, I have another answer. But this is the one that today sounds best to me.

Free will is a terrible lie perpetuated in that eponymous movie, Free Willy.

We are not that little boy with the power to unleash the Orca that is our birthshackle. It does not rise above our head and hurl itself into deep and endless water.

We were born already at the sad end of a happy story, where we could have been dogs but instead found ourselves tearing out of the placenta of some lower species.

Our personalities are already human.  Shackle number one.

The DNA of our parents, and their parents, and theirs, and theirs: Shackle number two.

It explains on why on one otherwise joyous and free-spirited trip tubing down the San Marcos river, I noticed my adult sisters gorging on chocolate and snapped, “You’ll ruin your dinner.”  It also explains why, gliding down the Manhattan streets with the sensuous gait of a runway model, I happened to look into the shiny side of a building and see, reflected, my father’s entitled lurch.

Where you were born, how you were raised. Both your gender and your generation. Your culture, your schooling, whether or not your mother once locked you in a closet with a terrible pantsuit from the 70’s hanging above your head as punishment (don’t deny it old lady), the books you read, things that happened to you, things that didn’t happen to you.

All affect what is called free will.

What’s even worse is the shorthand we have for each other. What we tend to do – what I tend to do – when confronted with the myriad inconsistencies which make up a person, is this:

We take that personality that still manages to be unique despite all the forces that conspire to shape it, and we name it one thing.

We say, that person is smart, that person is funny, that person is weird, that person is shy, that person is vain, boring, talented, crazy, black and white.

I hate having one brand.  As a writer, an advertiser, an individual.

Trapped in that Sea Worldian tank and made to do, for the Judas sum of a herring, that single and defining trick over and over again.

I think it goes back to free will, this desperate need to be a moving target for anyone who would classify me.

Being myself, being yourself, is already rife with classification.

Being two things, or ten, or a billion, is the glory of being human, a species usually kind of hosed when it comes to glory.  It is the uncapturable in you, that quality that does, in fact, allow you to be that shimmering Orca, still dripping with the chlorinated water of civilization, sailing above a boy’s head into the horizon of who you really are.

I know a woman named Janet whose poignant advertising work redefined how a generation of young girls feel about themselves and is hell on wheels at a party.

I know a man named Mark, who lost a brother to suicide, another brother to aids, almost died of it himself, was an addict, went to prison, and can channel it all into an brilliantly poignant film script or the quiet dedication, five years and counting, of picking up all the street litter in his neighborhood, or even the piece of comic art you see above.

My sister, The Rabbit, is not just a rabbit but a fawn and a wolf and a dove. My Saintly Mother is less than a saint and more than a mother. I could take any member of my family and write a comedy or a tragedy.

The man I once lived with was made up of everything I thought he was and everything I didn’t.  I wanted him to be the character I drew but he held the eraser, and I can only look to back at the moment I last saw him with wonder and respect.

And Darcie is an ever-changing human dreamscape of what is too sad to speak of and too funny for words.  That merry go round of burlesque show music, whispers of the damned, bottle rockets, shelter dogs, prayers that don’t come true.  She’s my jewel. If I want a different color, I hold her to a lit window and turn her slowly.

It took me a long time to realize Darcie is everyone I know.

That’s what I love in my family and my friends.  That eternal and defiant range of being. And when I find out something new about them, or something old that it is new to me, it’s like some shining penny I discover on a pile of old coins I thought I already counted.

And I reach for it, not for its earthly value, but its magical and glorious value to me.

§ 25 Responses to Funny/Sad You Should Ask

  • Scott Ware says:

    You’re such a Kathy Hepinstall.

  • A beautiful and illuminating post, Kathy.

    You’re human and we are very complex beings. That’s why aliens have yet to conquer us.

    Express it all, and keep those planet-grabbing bastards at bay!

  • Mark Olmsted says:

    Okay, I have a secret file of all the nicest things anyone has every said about me, and that paragraph goes to the top of the list.
    I was sitting in the Director’s Guild at a screening of the lovely “Brave” (The Kathy Hepinstall Story, with a brogue) this afternoon, and right before it was about to start, I had the most delicious feeling that it was a perfect moment, and that my life lacked absolutely nothing, was totally abundant. I’m pretty sure it was the exact instant you were writing this blog entry.
    Which would have been completely awesome without the shout-out. You’re one of the few writers I know who writes better than I do without making me hate them.
    Oh yeah, and one more thing! I get the funny/sad thing all the time too. In person I am invariably the court jester, the class clown, the man with the bot mots. But more of my work is tres dramatique. I would ask “what’s that about?” but I think I’ll just reread this.

    • Mark I’m honored I could be part of your perfect moment. I was there many years ago during a time in your life when I thought we’d lose you, so it’s amazing that we are here today and fans of each other’s work.

  • Some days, I wish that I could see the universe the way you do. Other days, I am glad that I can’t — dullness has it’s own rewards.

    Every day, I wish that I could express myself the way you do.

  • This is one of the coolest, truest things I’ve read in a long time!

  • catfish says:

    Wow. You played me like a violin.

  • Stef Sister says:

    This is the most beautiful thing I’ve ever read, of yours, of everything. You amaze me my friend.

  • kelly says:

    I am one of your friends whose being is multifaceted in more of a monochromatic way: boring, semi-boring, more boring at nights and on weekends, and really boring in meetings. But i’m glad you see me as otherwise. And for that, I love you. xo

    • Is this the same person who played dead in the bottom of a gorge in Maui with your water bottle still in your hand so that I would look down eighty feet and think you had fallen?

  • Sara says:

    Kathy, you will always be a particularly rare & frickin fabulous gem poised on the top of a pile of multi-faceted human jewels enclosed in the treasure trunk of this world. I think I need this image on a t-shirt so I can wear it constantly as a reminder of this magical metaphor…! xoxo

    • Sara you also have a way with words. Thank you very much. And thank you for the kind thoughts about Oreo. There weren’t very many people who had a chance to meet him before he shuffled off to dog heaven. No one really knows what happened to him before he got to the shelter…for all we know, he may have had a great life and then his owners didn’t have the money to put him down…or who knows. But I’m so happy you guys stayed over and could put a furry face to the name.

  • Dylan Lee says:

    Regarding your visual, in The Amazing Spider Man #214, does Doc Oc really want to kill Mary Jane, or is he just bluffing to make Peter Parker reveal his true identity because he knows the Shocker is going to arrive any minute with Loki?

    And you don’t suck as a writer either.

    • So many insightful questions, Dylan. I actually know nothing about Spider Man. But every question is important to me. And I am now going to the ends of the earth to find the answers for you. Including this one: The sound proof foam you found in your office was supposed to be for my cat, who has figured out how to sound like an elephant being murdered.

  • Matt Moore says:

    This post really makes me want to do some Tequila shots. Kathy when are you and your thirst for Mexican gasoline coming back to Portland?

  • Sarah Bird says:

    Kathy, this is astonishing. Wow. You are such a perceptive, wise, lyrical writer. Your fan, Sarah

  • Quite obviously going through all your blog posts now but I’m glad to see that you’ve written this. I struggle with the dual personalities a lot as a writer too, especially when people want to typecast you as someone who writes in one specific style. I love to do both because they provide different sets of challenges and I feel like anything that can be sad can also be humorous. I’m learning a lot from your blogs because you’re such a visual writer and you make the read much more palpable.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Funny/Sad You Should Ask at Kathy Hepinstall's Blog.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 224 other followers

