Lonely and Desperate

November 13, 2011 § 8 Comments

True:  I had this cat named Desperate. She hated San Francisco and me for the same reasons:  Too cold and no place to park.  She started losing weight from her unshakable ennui, so she went to stay with my mother who lives in a quiet neighborhood in Texas. I never knew the comedic value of her name being Desperate until I witnessed my mother standing in the open doorway under a full moon, calling her back into the house.

Should be true:  Old Man Reynolds, made a widower after a Sedgeway accident, lived a block away from my mother with his cat, Lonely.


One night, he was calling Lonely in and heard my mother’s low, plaintive answer.  Encouraged, he went courting and they got married and he and Lonely moved in with my mother and Desperate and all of them lived in a neverending and allergic danderhaze of possibilities and joy.

§ 8 Responses to Lonely and Desperate

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lonely and Desperate at Kathy Hepinstall's Blog.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 220 other followers

